Colorado Bucket List: A work in progress

Colorado Bucket ListWhen I left my job in July to go to graduate school I set aside the month of July to pack in as many Colorado adventures as possible – not knowing if I’d ever be back with enough time to enjoy the countless wonders Colorado has to offer. I came up with 17 must-do items for my Colorado bucket list, and – with one day left – I have accomplished 10 of the things I set out to do. True, I didn’t get to all of them, but this just means that I will be busy when I come back to visit.

Here’s where I stand…

Checked off the list:

  1. Watch Rockies game from the Rockpile.
  2. Climb Little Matterhorn in Rocky Mountain National Park with Dan.
  3. Eat Pueblo green chile.
  4. Overnight hiking trip to Conundrum Hot Springs.
  5. Dinner with Tina.
  6. Eat peaches and drink wine in Palisade (bike tour).
  7. Climb Otto’s Route to the top of Independence Monument.
  8. Bike Rim Rock drive in Colorado National Monument.
  9. Bike Grand Mesa Scenic and Historic Byway.
  10. Hike Longs Peak.

Things that weren’t on the list, but are list-worthy accomplishments:

  1. Climb trad in Eldorado Springs.
  2. Bike to Jamestown (and back via Lee Hill) with my brother.
  3. Hang out in Tabernash with old (and new) friends.
  4. Ride all my favorite bike routes near Boulder (Lefthand, Jamestown, Poorman, Flagstaff, Neva, Cherryvale, and Eldorado Canyon).
  5. Hike in Chautauqua/touch a Flatiron.

Not checked off the list:

  1. Climb the Flatirons.
  2. Hike to Hanging Lake.
  3. Hike in Rattlesnake Canyon.
  4. Fort Collins brewery tour with Jelley.
  5. Climb Yellow Spur in Eldorado Canyon.
  6. Hike to Ice Lake Basin with Dan.
  7. Bike South Rim Road overlooking Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park (and hike down into the canyon).

Before I sign off, I’d like to thank the many people who helped me make this one of the most memorable summers ever: Chelsea, Rachael, Dan, Michelle, Tara, Tina, Mom, Richard, Dad, Nik, Brett, Emily, Mark, Paul, Nathan and so on…you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

